MIDDLE SCHOOL SUMMER READING LIST

REALISTIC FICTION

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Xiomara is a teen growing up in Harlem. She is trying to figure out who she is as she navigates high school, falling in love, and her mother’s super-religious expectations. She discovers slam poetry as an outlet to understand herself.
Find the ebook on Overdrive, and the audiobook on Hoopla.

From Twinkle, With Love by Sandhya Menon

Twinkle Mehra dreams of being a filmmaker, and she’s thrilled when her classmate Sahil Roy asks her to direct a movie for their school’s Summer Festival–especially because she has a huge crush on Sahil’s twin brother, Neil. But now she’s getting mysterious emails from someone named N, and she’s falling in love with this mystery man, too!

Breakout by Kate Messner

When two inmates break out of the maximum-security prison in Wolf Creek, the entire town goes on lock down. The story is told through letters, poems, text messages, news stories, and other documents collected by local Nora Tucker.
Find the ebook on Overdrive.

Puddin’ by Julie Murphy

Millie Michalchuk’s mother has sent her to fat camp every summer. But Millie is determined that this one will be different. She plans to chase her secret dream and kiss her crush. You might remember Millie from Julie Murphy’s first book, Dumplin’. This story is all hers!
Find the ebook on Overdrive and the audiobook on Hoopla.

Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes

12-year-old Jerome is playing with a toy gun in the park when he is shot by a police officer. Jerome becomes a ghost, meets other boys killed by police officers, and watches how his death has affected his family.

Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams

Genesis and her family are moving again, after getting evicted from their last apartment because her dad gambled away the rent money. She also hates the comments family, friends, and even strangers make about her dark skin. She is convinced that if she finds a way to lighten it, her dad will stop drinking and their life will be perfect.

FANTASY & SCIENCE FICTION

Charlie Hernandez & the League of Shadows by Ryan Calejo

Charlie learned many Latin American folktales & legends from his abuela until her death. Strange things are starting to happen to Charlie–his house burned down, his parents have disappeared, and he seems to have suddenly grown feathers! Charlie ends up involved in an ancient battle La Liga is fighting against La Mano Negra. This book is great for Percy Jackson fans!

Sal & Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez

Sal Vidon developed the ability to manipulate space and time after his mom dies. Mostly he uses this power to conjure his dead mother back to life, but he’s trying to stop because it always ends in disaster. When Gabi learns his secret, she decides to help him learn to harness his power.
Find the ebook on Hoopla.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

In this dystopian novel, Dani is about to graduate and marry the son of an important politician. But Dani’s status is a lie. She carries forged identity papers to avoid being sent back to the fringes of society where her family lives. On graduation night, she is asked to become a spy for the resistance group fighting for equality. Will she refuse, or give it all up to fight for a free society and take a chance on a forbidden love?
Find the ebook on Overdrive

Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan

Ia Cocha is a 17-year-old girl, who also happens to be a criminal mastermind terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the nation that destroyed her home. When she is finally caught, she accepts a strange offer from the Commonwealth–become part of their military. Now she’s training at the military academy, making friends, and becoming unsure if the Commonwealth is really her enemy after all.
Find the ebook on Overdrive or Hoopla.

Seafire by Natalie C. Parker

Caledonia is the captain of her own ship, and she and her crew of girls have one thing in common–their loved ones were killed by warlord Aric Athair and his army of Bullets. After barely surviving a brutal attack, the crew takes a Bullet on board, who claims to be on their side. Do they trust him or not?
Find the audiobook on Overdrive.

Dry by Neal Shusterman & Jarrod Shusterman

In this near future world, a California drought has been going on for a long time. But suddenly, the taps go dry, and Alyssa and her family must find a way to get water and survive. When her parents fail to return from a water distribution center, Alyssa has to decide if she should stay put with her little brother, or try to find them. This survival story seems almost too close to reality!

MYSTERY & HORROR

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden

On her way home from school, Ollie sees a woman attempting to throw a book into the river. She saves the book from its demise, and becomes enthralled by the story of three people who make a strange deal with the sinister “smiling man.” The next day on a class trip to a local farm, Ollie stumbles upon the graves of the people from her book, which causes her to wonder if the book might not be fiction after all. On the way home, their school bus breaks down. Ollie’s broken watch suddenly displays a message: RUN. She and two other classmates flee the bus and begin a strange, terrifying journey through the woods.

Spin by Lamar Giles

16-year-old Paris, aka the famous DJ ParSec, is dead. Her pre-fame best friend Kya, and her chief groupie Fuse both suspect each other, and start to fight it out publicly until they learn something that changes everything: Paris was about to sign a major deal that would make her a superstar. Suddenly there are new motive and new suspects, and Paris’s killer wants to get rid of Kya and Fuse, too.
Find the ebook on Overdrive and the audiobook on Hoopla.

The Agony House by Cherie Priest

Denise is moving back to New Orleans with her mom & step-dad years after Hurricane Katrina. The old, run-down house her family wants to turn into a bed and breakfast seems weird and creepy, and Denise is pretty sure it’s haunted. She finds an old comic book in the attic that may unravel the mystery.
Find the audiobook on Hoopla.

HISTORICAL FICTION

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

It’s 2002, and Shirin is a 16-year-old Muslim girl who wears a hijab growing up in a small town just one year after 9/11. She deals with regular harassment at school and channels it into break dancing with her brother and his friends. When she meets Ocean James, she realizes she’s falling in love, but it seems impossible for them to be together, since they come from two very different world.
Find the ebook on Overdrive and the audiobook on Hoopla.

Resistance by Jennifer A. Nielsen

16-year-old Chaya is a Jewish teenager living in Poland during WWII. Chaya joins the resistance, and works as a courier, smuggling food, paper, and people into and out of the Hungarian ghettos. After a mission goes terribly wrong, she is alone and doesn’t know where to go. Esther, a member of the group, finds her and tells her that they have been instructed to go join an even larger uprising in the extremely dangerous Warsaw Ghetto.
Find the audiobook on Hoopla.

GRAPHIC NOVELS

Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol

Vera is a Russian girl growing up in the suburbs. She feels totally out of place with the other girls at school, so she begs her mother to send her to a Russian summer camp to make some new friends. Nothing could prepare her for the drama of camp and the horrifying outhouses she encounters! Fans of Smile, Drama, or Sisters will love this one! 

The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer & the Plot to Kill Hitler by John Hendrix

This book tells the story of German Lutheran pastor Dietrich Bonhoeffer and his fight against oppression during World War II. He spoke out against the beliefs of the Third Reich and sacrificed everything to stop Hitler and the Nazi Party.
Find the ebook on Hoopla.

The Backstagers by James Tynion IV

The stage crew at St. Genesius Prep (aka the Backstagers) are ready for anything the theater world throws at them, including the craziness of tech week, prop malfunctions, and all the paranormal activity that seems to go on in their school’s theater.
Find the ebooks on Hoopla.